Friday November 22, 2019

Fife Flyers 2016/17 awards

The annual Fife Flyers end of season awards ceremony was held at The Bay Hotel Wednesday evening with another fantastic turnout from our loyal fans.

The event got underway at 7:45pm with host Ali McLaren welcoming players, fans and sponsors, before handing over to head coach Todd Dutiaume.

Dutiaume thanked fans for their support throughout the season, which saw the team qualify for the end of season playoffs having finished in 6th position in the league standings. Flyers will come up against Belfast Giants in the playoff quarter final, with the home tie taking place at Fife Ice Arena on Sunday 2nd April, face-off 6:30pm.

Following from the success of last years awards night quiz, fans and players competed together to see who would come out on top.

As well as celebrating the player awards, Wednesday evening also allowed the organisation to thank fans, players, sponsors, staff and volunteers.

The 2016/17 season saw Flyers launch their Great 8 partnership, with FiFab being announced as the title sponsor.

A huge thanks once again to The Bay Hotel for hosting another fantastic evening, and a huge thank you as well to all of our other sponsors. Be sure to keep an eye on our official social media platforms for photographs from the evening.

The awards were presented to each category winner, the winners can be found below:

Fife Flyers Top Points Scorer

WINNER – Mathew Sisca

Runner-up – Ryan Dingle

Runner-up – Brendan Brooks

Mathew Sisca - Top Point Scorer


Fife Flyers Forward of the Year

WINNER - Ryan Dingle

Runner-up - Brendan Brooks

Runner-up - Chase Schaber

Ryan Dingle - Forward of the Year


Defenceman of the Year

WINNER - Russ Moyer

Runner-up - Philippe Paquet

Runner-up - Ric Jackman

Russ Moyer - Defenceman of the Year


Fife Flyers British Player of the Year

WINNER - Chris Wands

Runner-up - Josh Scoon

Runner-up – Thomas Muir

Chris Wands - British Player of the Year


Fife Flyers Goal of the Season

WINNER - Brendan Brooks vs Belfast Giants 3rd December 2016

Runner-up - Chris Wands vs Cardiff Devils

Runner-up - Justin Fox vs Manchester Storm

Brendan Brooks - Goal of the Year


Fife Flyers Unsung Hero of the Year

WINNER - Sebastien Thinel

Runner-up - Chase Schaber

Runner-up - Brendan Brooks

Sebastien Thinel - Unsung Hero of the Year


Fan's Player of the Year

WINNER - Shane Owen

Runner-up - Ryan Dingle

Runner-up - Russ Moyer

Shane Owen - Fans Player of the Year



Fife Flyers Players’ Player of the Year

WINNER – Shane Owen

Shane Owen - Players' Player of the Year


Sheffield Steelers Sheffield 14 18
Belfast Giants Belfast 11 18
Glasgow Clan Glasgow 12 17
Cardiff Devils Cardiff 10 14
Coventry Blaze Coventry 13 14
Fife Flyers Fife 13 13
Guilford Flames Guildford 12 12
Nottingham Panthers Nottingham 13 11
Dundee Stars Dundee 15 7
Manchester Manchester 11 7
  Full Standings  

Elite Ice Hockey League

The Elite Ice Hockey League (EIHL) is a professional ice hockey league in the United Kingdom formed in 2003. The league currently consists of 10 teams, with Belfast (NIR), Cardiff (WAL), Coventry (ENG), Dundee (SCO), Fife (SCO), Glasgow (SCO), Guildford (ENG), Manchester (ENG), Nottingham (ENG) and Sheffield (ENG).

Elite League Logo


About Flyers

The Fife Flyers, established in 1938, are the oldest professional ice hockey team in the United Kingdom. The team has a history of success through the ages, with over 60 Scottish and British cups and titles to their name.

Fife Ice Arena, Rosslyn Street
Kirkcaldy, Fife, Scotland, KY1 3HS 

Phone: 01592568702
Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Flyers on Social Media


twitterFollow Flyers on Twitter at

Facebook    Follow Flyers on Facebook at

Instagram    Follow Fife Flyers at

S5 Box